Agniveer Current Affairs Quiz — Last 6 months
Daily news by your exam, state and topic — each with a short summary, key facts and MCQs.
Who chairs the High-Level Committee on Demographic Change constituted by the Government of India in May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Justice Prakash Prabhakar Navlekar (Retd)
The committee is chaired by Justice Prakash Prabhakar Navlekar (Retired); Shamika Ravi, Durga Shankar Mishra and Balaji Srivastava are members along with the Census Commissioner.
Consider the following statements about the High-Level Committee on Demographic Change (May 2026): 1. It has to submit its report within one year. 2. Its tenure may be extended by up to six months if necessary. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
The committee will submit its report within one year, and its tenure may be extended by up to six months if necessary.
As per the National Sports Governance (National Sports Board) Rules, 2026, the National Sports Board shall consist of:
Show answer
Correct answer: B — A Chairperson and two Members
The Board shall consist of a Chairperson and two Members appointed by the Central Government from a panel recommended by the Search-cum-Selection Committee.
The National Sports Board Rules, 2026 and the National Sports Tribunal Rules, 2026 were notified under which law?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — National Sports Governance Act, 2025
Both sets of rules were notified under the provisions of the National Sports Governance Act, 2025.
The PM-AJAY Portal launched in May 2026 enables milestone-linked fund flow for which components of the scheme?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Adarsh Gram, Grant-in-Aid and Hostel
The portal covers the Adarsh Gram, Grant-in-Aid (GIA) and Hostel components under PM-AJAY.
PM-AJAY, for which a portal and mobile app were launched in May 2026, is implemented by which ministry?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment
The PM-AJAY Portal and App were launched by Dr Virendra Kumar, Union Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment; the Department of Social Justice implements PM-AJAY for Scheduled Caste communities.
Which company was approved in May 2026 as the strategic buyer for 100% equity of Indian Medicines Pharmaceutical Corporation Limited (IMPCL)?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Skymap Pharmaceuticals Pvt. Ltd.
The Alternative Mechanism approved the highest bid of about ₹121.01 crore by Skymap Pharmaceuticals Private Limited.
Consider the following statements about IMPCL: 1. It was incorporated in 1978. 2. Its prime objective is manufacturing and supplying standardised Homoeopathic and Siddha medicines. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
IMPCL was incorporated on 12 July 1978 with the prime objective of manufacturing and supplying standardised Ayurvedic and Unani medicines, not Homoeopathic and Siddha.
Under the PM-WANI reforms announced in May 2026, flexible short-duration Wi-Fi plans of which durations have been introduced?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — 15, 30 and 60 minutes
The DoT reforms introduce flexible short-duration plans of 15, 30 and 60 minutes.
Within what period have PM-WANI stakeholders been directed to implement the revised guidelines issued by DoT on 22 May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Eight weeks
Stakeholders must implement the revised guidelines within eight weeks from issuance, making the features operational by July 2026.
As per telecom subscription data for the end of April 2026, India's total telephone subscriber base (wireless plus wireline) was about:
Show answer
Correct answer: B — 1,338 million
Total telephone subscribers were 1,337.54 million; 1,073.44 million is the broadband figure, 1,193.57 million active wireless and 1,288.96 million total wireless.
Consider the following statements based on telecom subscription data for the end of April 2026: 1. Overall tele-density (with M2M connections) was 93.69%. 2. Rural subscribers accounted for more than half of total telephone subscribers. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
Overall tele-density was 93.69%; rural subscribers were 41.45% of the total, so statement 2 is wrong.
As per KVIC's provisional data for 2025-26, sales of Khadi and Village Industries products reached about:
Show answer
Correct answer: C — ₹1.87 lakh crore
Sales reached a record ₹1,87,105 crore; ₹1,25,296 crore is the production figure.
Consider the following statements about KVIC's provisional data for 2025-26: 1. Sales grew by about 501% compared with 2013-14. 2. The value of production in 2025-26 was higher than the value of sales. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
Sales rose 501% over 2013-14 to ₹1,87,105 crore; production was ₹1,25,296 crore, which is lower than sales.
The Ministry of Ayush meeting on WHO-ICHI and National Health Intervention Codes in May 2026 focused on developing standardised intervention codes for which systems of medicine?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Ayurveda, Siddha and Unani
The meeting covered ICHI and NHIC for the Ayurveda, Siddha and Unani (ASU) systems of medicine.
Consider the following statements as per the India Semiconductor Mission (May 2026): 1. 12 Fab/Packaging projects have been approved under the Semicon India Programme so far. 2. 24 semiconductor design projects have been approved so far. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
ISM stated that so far 12 Fab/Packaging projects have been approved along with 24 semiconductor design projects.
What is the name of the online portal launched by the India Semiconductor Mission on 26 May 2026 for investors?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Investors Support
The portal launched on 26.05.2026 is titled 'Investors Support' and is accessible at ism.gov.in/investment.
While reviewing Ebola preparedness in May 2026, the Union Health Minister said India had not reported any case of which Ebola disease?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — Bundibugyo Ebola disease
Nadda stated that India has not reported any case of Bundibugyo Ebola disease till date.
Consider the following statements regarding the 2026 Ebola outbreak in parts of Africa: 1. WHO declared it a Public Health Emergency of International Concern. 2. The Africa CDC declared a Public Health Emergency of Continental Security. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
WHO declared a PHEIC and the Africa CDC declared a Public Health Emergency of Continental Security (PHECS).
The new series of the All-India Index of Industrial Production (IIP), to be launched on 1 June 2026, will have which base year?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — 2022-23
The TAC-IIP report covers revision of the IIP base year from 2011-12 to 2022-23.
Which method will the new IIP series adopt for linking the 2011-12 series with the 2022-23 series?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Geometric Mean method
The new series will adopt the Geometric Mean method for linking, with linking factors computed for the General Index and Sectoral Indices.
Consider the following statements about the new IIP series (base 2022-23): 1. Its scope includes Rare Earth Minerals and Water Supply. 2. It is aligned with the National Industrial Classification (NIC-2008). Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
The new series adds Minor Minerals, Rare Earth Minerals, Gas Supply, Water Supply and Sewerage & Waste Management, and is aligned with NIC-2025, not NIC-2008.
What was India Post's revenue in FY 2025-26, as stated by the MoS for Communications in May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — ₹15,373 crore
India Post's revenue rose to ₹15,373 crore in 2025-26, a single-year increase of ₹2,100 crore; it was about ₹11,500 crore in 2016.
As per India Post (May 2026), how many girls are enrolled under the Sukanya Samriddhi scheme?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — 3.8 crore
India Post said 3.8 crore girls are enrolled under the Sukanya Samriddhi scheme.
How many public health technologies did ICMR transfer to industry at the 'Medical Innovations Patent Mitra: I2I Connect' event in May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — 41
ICMR transferred 41 public health technologies to industry at the event.
The May 2026 ICMR event saw India's first-ever transfer to industry of inactivated biomaterials of which two viruses?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Kyasanur Forest Disease and Chandipura
India witnessed the first-ever transfer of inactivated KFD (Kyasanur Forest Disease) and Chandipura virus biomaterials to industry partners.
The Election Commission of India organised the May 2026 workshop on 'Risk Management and Electoral Resilience' in collaboration with which organisation?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — International IDEA
ECI organised the workshop with International IDEA under India's Chairship Programme 2026.
How many countries were represented among the 32 participants of the ECI workshop on Risk Management and Electoral Resilience (May 2026)?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — 12
The 32 participants represented Election Management Bodies of 12 countries.
What is the overarching theme of India's BRICS 2026 Chairship under which the first Tourism Working Group meeting was held in May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Building for Resilience, Innovation, Cooperation and Sustainability
The meeting advanced tourism cooperation under the overarching theme 'Building for Resilience, Innovation, Cooperation and Sustainability'.
Where will the BRICS Tourism Ministers' Meeting be held in August 2026 under India's chairship?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — Jaipur
The 2nd TWG meeting (19–20 August 2026) and the BRICS Tourism Ministers' Meeting (21–22 August 2026) will both be held in Jaipur, Rajasthan.
ALMM List-II, whose 1 June 2026 deadline MNRE decided not to extend across the board, applies to:
Show answer
Correct answer: B — Solar PV cells
The decision concerns ALMM List-II for solar PV cells.
The Department of Expenditure's Office Memorandum of 29.04.2026, considered by MNRE, suggested time extensions of what duration based on specific situations?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Not less than two months and not more than four months
The OM advised treating the West Asia situation as war and suggested extensions of not less than two months and not more than four months, case by case.
How many mineral blocks were auctioned in FY 2025-26, a record for a single financial year, as per the Ministry of Mines (May 2026)?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — 212
A record 212 mineral blocks were auctioned in FY 2025-26; 108 were auctioned in FY 2015-16 to 2020-21 and 364 in FY 2021-22 to 2024-25.
Of the mineral blocks auctioned in FY 2025-26, how many were critical and strategic mineral blocks?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — 22
The record FY 2025-26 tally includes the auction of 22 critical and strategic mineral blocks.
Under the LPG (Regulation of Supply and Distribution) Amendment Order, 2026, a consumer who obtains a PNG connection may apply to terminate the LPG connection within how many days?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — 30 days
Consumers may apply for termination of the LPG connection within 30 days of obtaining a PNG connection.
What is the purpose of the 'transfer voucher' introduced by the LPG control order amendment of May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Future restoration of an LPG connection in a non-PNG area
Consumers with PNG connections may obtain a transfer voucher for future restoration of their LPG connection in a non-PNG area.
The National e-Governance Service Delivery Assessment (NeSDA), whose 2025 portal was launched in May 2026, is based on which index?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — Online Service Index of the UN e-Government Survey
NeSDA is based on the Online Service Index (OSI) of the UN e-Government Survey, customised for the Indian federal structure.
Consider the following statements about NeSDA: 1. It is a biennial assessment framework. 2. It was developed by the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
NeSDA is a biennial framework developed by the Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances (DARPG), not MeitY.
Which institute's researchers found molecular evidence of ancient Gondwana wildfires preserved in coal, as reported in May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Birbal Sahni Institute of Palaeosciences
Researchers from the Birbal Sahni Institute of Palaeosciences (BSIP), an autonomous institute of DST, carried out the study.
Consider the following statements about the BSIP palaeofire study (May 2026): 1. It found evidence of wildfires in Gondwana forests nearly 250 million years ago. 2. It combined palynofacies analysis with Raman and FTIR spectroscopy. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
The study used palynofacies analysis with Raman and FTIR spectroscopy and found evidence of wildfires in Gondwana forests nearly 250 million years ago.
The UPSC Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination 2026, held on 24 May 2026, was conducted at:
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 2,072 venues in 83 cities
UPSC conducted the examination at 2,072 examination venues in 83 examination centres (cities).
As per UPSC's provisional data, roughly what share of applicants appeared in the Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — About 67%
Nearly 5.49 lakh of 8,19,732 applicants, about 67%, appeared; about 61% had appeared in 2025.
The real-time face authentication system used by UPSC for the first time in the Civil Services Prelims 2026 was developed through:
Show answer
Correct answer: B — National e-Governance Division (NeGD), MeitY
UPSC said the indigenously developed system through NeGD of MeitY worked across all 2,072 venues.
Consider the following statements about the UPSC Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination 2026: 1. The Indian Forest Service (Preliminary) Examination 2026 was held along with it. 2. More candidates applied for it than for the 2025 examination. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
The IFS (Prelims) 2026 was held along with it. 8,19,732 applied in 2026 against nearly 9.5 lakh in 2025, so statement 2 is wrong.
Which party won the most seats in Cyprus's parliamentary election held on 24 May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Democratic Rally (DISY)
The centre-right Democratic Rally (DISY) came first with 17 seats, ahead of AKEL.
Consider the following statements about the Cyprus parliamentary election of 24 May 2026: 1. DISY won 17 seats. 2. ELAM won eight seats. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
DISY won 17 seats and the far-right ELAM won eight seats.
Which party moved into third place in the Cyprus parliamentary election of May 2026, described as a far-right party?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — ELAM
The far-right ELAM made gains and became the third-largest party in the legislature.
Experts from which two IITs were deputed in May 2026 to help CBSE fix technical glitches in its post-result re-evaluation services portal?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — IIT Madras and IIT Kanpur
Dharmendra Pradhan directed that professors and technical experts from IIT Madras and IIT Kanpur assist CBSE.
Which of the following is NOT among the five dispensing systems added to the scope of Government Approved Test Centres (GATCs) in May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Electric vehicle charging stations
The five added categories are petrol/diesel, CNG, LPG, LNG and hydrogen dispensers; EV charging stations are not among them.
Under the amended GATC Rules (May 2026), what is the verification fee for CNG, LPG, LNG and hydrogen dispensers?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — ₹10,000 per nozzle
The fee is ₹10,000 per nozzle for CNG, LPG, LNG and hydrogen dispensers, and ₹5,000 per nozzle for petrol and diesel dispensers.
Consider the following statements about the amendment to the Legal Metrology (Government Approved Test Centre) Rules, 2013 (May 2026): 1. State Governments are empowered to notify additional categories of weights and measures for verification through GATCs. 2. The verification fee for petrol and diesel dispensers is ₹10,000 per nozzle. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
States can notify additional categories; the fee for petrol and diesel dispensers is ₹5,000 per nozzle, not ₹10,000.
From which date will the VB–G RAM G Act, 2025 commence, with MGNREGS continuing until then?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — 1 July 2026
The Ministry said Mahatma Gandhi NREGS will continue till the commencement of the VB–G RAM G Act on 1 July 2026.
What MGNREGS labour budget was approved for June 2026 ahead of the switch to the VB–G RAM G Act?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Over 45 crore persondays
An adequate labour budget of over 45 crore persondays was approved for June 2026.
Consider the following statements about the preparations for the VB–G RAM G Act, 2025 (May 2026): 1. Mother sanctions of ₹26,971 crore were issued under Mahatma Gandhi NREGS. 2. States were asked to prepare their shelf of works on the e-Gram Swaraj portal. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
₹26,971 crore of mother sanctions were issued. The shelf of works is to be prepared through the Yuktdhara portal, not e-Gram Swaraj, so statement 2 is wrong.
The BHAVYA Scheme, whose guidelines DPIIT released in May 2026, aims to develop:
Show answer
Correct answer: D — 100 industrial parks with about ₹33,660 crore
The Scheme provides for 100 industrial parks over 2026-27 to 2031-32 with an outlay of about ₹33,660 crore.
Which body has been designated the Project Management Agency for the BHAVYA Scheme?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — National Industrial Corridor Development Corporation (NICDC)
The guidelines designate NICDC as the Project Management Agency for implementation and monitoring.
Over which period will the BHAVYA Scheme be implemented?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — 2026-27 to 2031-32
The 100 parks are to be developed over six years, 2026-27 to 2031-32.
Consider the following statements about the BHAVYA Scheme guidelines: 1. The minimum land requirement for a park is 25 acres in hilly states, north-eastern states, Union Territories and smaller states. 2. Up to 50 industrial parks will be taken up in the first phase through a challenge-based competitive selection. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
Both are correct: 25 acres (100 acres in non-hilly states) is the minimum, and up to 50 parks are taken up first through challenge-based selection.
During his Canada visit of 25–27 May 2026, Piyush Goyal was to meet which Canadian Minister of International Trade to review India–Canada CEPA?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Maninder Sidhu
PIB: Goyal will meet Mr Maninder Sidhu, Minister of International Trade; Mark Carney is the Prime Minister and Anita Anand the Foreign Minister.
As per the Commerce Ministry, what was the value of India's exports to Canada in FY2025-26?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — USD 4.67 billion
Bilateral trade was around USD 8 billion: India's exports USD 4.67 billion and imports USD 3.28 billion.
Consider the following statements: 1. India had a trade surplus with Canada in FY2025-26. 2. Piyush Goyal's May 2026 visit to Canada was scheduled from 25 to 30 May. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
Exports (USD 4.67 bn) exceeded imports (USD 3.28 bn), so India had a surplus. The visit was from 25 to 27 May, so statement 2 is wrong.
Which US Cabinet official called on Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 23 May 2026 as Secretary of State?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Marco Rubio
PIB: US Secretary of State Marco Rubio called on Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 23 May 2026.
Consider the following statements about US Secretary of State Marco Rubio's call on PM Modi (23 May 2026): 1. Rubio shared the US perspective on regional and global issues, including the situation in West Asia. 2. PM Modi asked Rubio to convey his warm greetings to President Trump. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
Both are in the PIB release: Rubio shared the US view including on West Asia, and the PM asked him to convey greetings to President Trump.
Which edition of the Rozgar Mela was held on 23 May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — 19th
PIB: the Prime Minister distributed the letters at the 19th Rozgar Mela on 23 May 2026.
How many appointment letters were distributed at the Rozgar Mela on 23 May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — More than 51,000
More than 51,000 appointment letters were distributed to newly appointed youth.
How many Indian school students are visiting Japan under the Sakura Science Programme 2026 (24–30 May)?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — 56
56 school students (24 boys and 32 girls) and 4 supervisors from India are visiting Japan.
The Sakura Science Programme ('Japan Asia Youth Exchange Program in Science') is implemented by:
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST)
PIB: the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST) has been implementing the programme since 2014; India has participated since April 2016.