REET Current Affairs Quiz — All time
Daily news by your exam, state and topic — each with a short summary, key facts and MCQs.
The Common Landing Portal for Unclaimed Financial Assets launched in May 2026 advances which campaign?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Aapki Poonji, Aapka Adhikar
The portal advances the 'Aapki Poonji, Aapka Adhikar' (Your Money, Your Right) campaign.
The Common Landing Portal for Unclaimed Financial Assets (May 2026) was developed by the Department of Financial Services in collaboration with:
Show answer
Correct answer: C — PSB Alliance
DFS developed the portal in collaboration with PSB Alliance.
Who assumed charge as the 48th Vice Chief of the Naval Staff on 29 May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Vice Admiral Ajay Kochhar
Vice Admiral Ajay Kochhar assumed charge as the 48th VCNS on 29 May 2026, succeeding Vice Admiral Sanjay Vatsayan.
Consider the following statements about Vice Admiral Ajay Kochhar: 1. He has commanded the aircraft carrier INS Vikramaditya. 2. He served as Commandant of the National Defence Academy. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
He commanded INS Vikramaditya and, after commanding the Western Fleet in 2021, served as Commandant, NDA.
As per the Canada-India Joint Statement of May 2026, by when do both sides aim to conclude negotiations on the Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (CEPA)?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — By the end of 2026
Both Ministers affirmed their shared objective of concluding CEPA negotiations by the end of this year (2026).
Which platform was launched by India and Canada in May 2026 to bring together business leaders of both countries?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Canada-India Trade and Investment Forum
The Ministers launched the Canada-India Trade and Investment Forum as a key platform for Canadian and Indian business leaders.
In May 2026, who was given additional charge as Chairman of DRDO on completion of Dr Samir V. Kamat's tenure?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Rajesh Kumar Singh
Defence Secretary Rajesh Kumar Singh was given additional charge as Secretary, DDR&D and Chairman, DRDO, from 31 May 2026.
Dr Samir V. Kamat, whose tenure as DRDO Chairman ended on 31 May 2026, had held the post since:
Show answer
Correct answer: D — August 2022
Dr Kamat had served as Secretary DDR&D and Chairman DRDO since August 2022.
According to the Union Agriculture Minister at the Kharif Conclave-2026, India's foodgrain production has exceeded:
Show answer
Correct answer: C — 3,765 lakh tonnes
Shivraj Singh Chouhan said foodgrain production has exceeded 3,765 lakh tonnes.
At the Kharif Conclave-2026, India was said to have become the world's largest producer of rice by surpassing which country?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — China
The Agriculture Minister said India has become the world's No. 1 in rice production, surpassing China.
Consider the following statements about the Kharif Conclave-2026: 1. It was held at the NASC Complex, Pusa, New Delhi. 2. Regional agriculture conferences ahead of it were held at Jaipur, Lucknow and Bhubaneswar. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
The conclave was held at NASC Complex, Pusa, on 28–29 May 2026; regional conferences had been held at Jaipur, Lucknow and Bhubaneswar.
The Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (IBC), which completed 10 years in May 2026, came into force in which year?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — 2016
MCA said the IBC, which came into force in 2016, completed 10 years on 28 May 2026.
As per MCA data released on IBC's 10th anniversary, resolution plans under the Code have realised how much for creditors (as of March 2026)?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Over ₹4 lakh crore
1,419 resolution plans realised over ₹4 lakh crore; ₹14 lakh crore is the value of 30,000+ cases settled before admission.
Consider the following statements regarding IBC outcomes up to March 2026: 1. More cases closed with the company being rescued than with liquidation. 2. Realisation for creditors under resolution plans was below the liquidation value of the assets. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
4,099 companies were rescued against 3,003 liquidations; realisation was 167% of liquidation value, i.e. above it.
S&P Global Ratings, as cited by MCA on IBC's 10th anniversary, upgraded India's insolvency framework to which group?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — From Group C to Group B
S&P Global Ratings upgraded India's insolvency framework from 'Group C' to 'Group B'.
The 16th edition of the Defence Policy Dialogue held on 28 May 2026 in Singapore was between India and which country?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Singapore
The 16th India-Singapore Defence Policy Dialogue was co-chaired by Defence Secretary Rajesh Kumar Singh and Permanent Secretary (Defence) Joseph Leong in Singapore.
Who co-chaired the 16th India-Singapore Defence Policy Dialogue (May 2026) from the Indian side?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — Defence Secretary Rajesh Kumar Singh
Defence Secretary Rajesh Kumar Singh co-chaired the dialogue with Singapore's Permanent Secretary (Defence) Joseph Leong.
In May 2026, a Mother Sanction of about ₹10,021 crore was released to 12 States under which scheme?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Pradhan Mantri Awaas Yojana-Gramin
Shivraj Singh Chouhan released a ₹10,021.42 crore Mother Sanction to 12 States under PMAY-G.
Which of the following States was NOT among the 12 States that received the PMAY-G Mother Sanction on 28 May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Bihar
The 12 States were Assam, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu and Uttar Pradesh; Bihar was not among them.
Where were the 2026 U23 Asian Wrestling Championships, in which India won two team titles, held?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Da Nang, Vietnam
The 2026 U23 Asian Championships were held in Da Nang, Vietnam.
Consider the following statements about India's performance at the 2026 U23 Asian Wrestling Championships: 1. India's women's wrestling team won the team title. 2. India's Greco-Roman team won the most gold medals among the three Indian squads. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
The men's freestyle and women's teams won team titles; the women won 6 golds (the most), while the Greco-Roman team's record was 8 medals overall.
NHAI's tentative list of National Highway assets for monetisation in FY 2026–27 covers what total length?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — 1,692.5 km
The 17 identified assets have a combined length of 1,692.5 km across nine States.
Consider the following statements about NHAI's FY 2026–27 monetisation list: 1. It covers monetisation through Toll-Operate-Transfer (TOT) and InvIT modes. 2. It includes the assets to be monetised through the Raajmarg Infra Investment Trust (RIIT). Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
The list covers TOT and InvIT modes but does not include assets proposed for monetisation through RIIT.
Dhanendra Kumar, who died in May 2026, was the first Chairman of which body?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Competition Commission of India
Dhanendra Kumar was the first Chairman of the Competition Commission of India (CCI).
Consider the following statements about Dhanendra Kumar, who died in May 2026: 1. He was a 1968-batch IAS officer of the Haryana cadre. 2. He represented India as an Executive Director at the World Bank. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
He was a 1968-batch Haryana cadre IAS officer and also represented India at the World Bank as an Executive Director.
As per the National Health Accounts 2022-23 (released May 2026), out-of-pocket expenditure as a share of total health expenditure was:
Show answer
Correct answer: B — 43.4%
OOPE declined from 64.2% (2013-14) to 43.4% (2022-23); 39.4% was the COVID-period figure.
According to NHA 2022-23, Government Health Expenditure as a share of GDP (old series) in 2022-23 was:
Show answer
Correct answer: B — 1.43%
GHE rose from 1.15% of GDP in 2013-14 to 1.43% in 2022-23; 1.84% was the 2021-22 pandemic-year figure.
Consider the following statements about the National Health Accounts 2022-23: 1. The share of Government Health Expenditure in total health expenditure was higher than the share of out-of-pocket expenditure. 2. The estimates were prepared by NITI Aayog. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
GHE's share (43.7%) slightly exceeded OOPE's (43.4%); the estimates were prepared by the NHA Technical Secretariat at NHSRC, not NITI Aayog.
What is the Central outlay approved by the Cabinet in May 2026 for the SARTHAK-PDS umbrella scheme?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — ₹25,530 crore
The CCEA approved SARTHAK-PDS with an outlay of ₹25,530 crore as Central share.
Consider the following statements about SARTHAK-PDS approved in May 2026: 1. It integrates the SMART PDS scheme with assistance for intra-State movement of foodgrains and FPS dealers' margin. 2. The merged scheme will operate up to 31 March 2031. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
SARTHAK-PDS merges SMART PDS with the intra-State movement/FPS dealers' margin scheme and runs up to 31.03.2031.
SARTHAK-PDS aims to comprehensively strengthen the implementation of which law?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — National Food Security Act, 2013
The umbrella scheme is meant to strengthen implementation of the National Food Security Act, 2013 (NFSA).
As per the Third Advance Estimates 2025-26 (May 2026), India's total foodgrain production is estimated at about:
Show answer
Correct answer: C — 376.6 million tonnes
Foodgrain production is estimated at a record 376.563 million tonnes; 357.732 million tonnes was the 2024-25 figure.
Which crop recorded the largest absolute increase in production in the Third Advance Estimates 2025-26, rising by about 11.7 million tonnes over 2024-25?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Maize
Maize rose to a record 55.093 MT from 43.409 MT (+11.684 MT); rice rose by 3.84 MT and wheat by 2.712 MT.
Consider the following statements about the Third Advance Estimates 2025-26: 1. Rice production is estimated to be higher than wheat production. 2. Foodgrain production is estimated to be more than 10% higher than in 2024-25. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
Rice (154.024 MT) exceeds wheat (120.657 MT); foodgrain output is up about 5.3%, not more than 10%.
In the Third Advance Estimates 2025-26, which crop's production is estimated at a record 500.063 million tonnes?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Sugarcane
Sugarcane production is estimated at a record 500.063 million tonnes.
According to the Petroleum Ministry (May 2026), what is India's rank among the world's refiners?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Fourth
India is the world's fourth-largest refiner, with 258.1 MTPA capacity across 22 refineries.
India's installed refining capacity, as stated by the Petroleum Ministry in May 2026, is:
Show answer
Correct answer: B — 258.1 MTPA
Installed capacity is 258.1 million tonnes per annum; 243.2 million tonnes was domestic consumption in FY 2025-26.
INS Sudarshini, which completed her first trans-Atlantic crossing in May 2026, is part of which Indian Navy expedition?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — Lokayan 26
INS Sudarshini's voyage is part of the ongoing Lokayan 26 expedition.
Consider the following statements about INS Sudarshini's voyage (May 2026): 1. The last trans-Atlantic crossing by an Indian Navy sail training ship before this was by INS Tarangini in 2007. 2. The expedition began from Visakhapatnam in January 2026. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
INS Tarangini made the last such crossing in 2007; the expedition departed from Kochi on 20 January 2026, not Visakhapatnam.
Where was the 12th round of India–Republic of Korea CEPA upgrade negotiations held in May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — New Delhi
The 12th round of IK CEPA upgrade negotiations was held in New Delhi from 25–27 May 2026.
At the 12th round of India–Korea CEPA upgrade talks (May 2026), the two sides agreed to form sub-groups on which areas?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Digital trade, supply chains and strategic industrial cooperation
India and Korea agreed to form sub-groups to expand CEPA talks on digital trade, supply chains and strategic industrial cooperation.
As stated by Dr Jitendra Singh in May 2026, women form nearly what share of the 2024 IAS batch?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — 41%
Women officers make up nearly 41% of the 2024 IAS batch, one of the highest-ever shares.
Which river-interlinking project did the PM say should serve as a model for resolving inter-State water issues, at the 51st PRAGATI meeting (May 2026)?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Ken-Betwa Link Project
The PM reviewed the Ken-Betwa Link Project and said it should serve as a model for other States to resolve inter-State water issues amicably.
In the governance platform PRAGATI, whose 51st meeting was held in May 2026, what does PRAGATI stand for?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — Pro-Active Governance and Timely Implementation
PRAGATI is the ICT-enabled, multi-modal platform for Pro-Active Governance and Timely Implementation.
Who chairs the High-Level Committee on Demographic Change constituted by the Government of India in May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Justice Prakash Prabhakar Navlekar (Retd)
The committee is chaired by Justice Prakash Prabhakar Navlekar (Retired); Shamika Ravi, Durga Shankar Mishra and Balaji Srivastava are members along with the Census Commissioner.
Consider the following statements about the High-Level Committee on Demographic Change (May 2026): 1. It has to submit its report within one year. 2. Its tenure may be extended by up to six months if necessary. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
The committee will submit its report within one year, and its tenure may be extended by up to six months if necessary.
As per the National Sports Governance (National Sports Board) Rules, 2026, the National Sports Board shall consist of:
Show answer
Correct answer: B — A Chairperson and two Members
The Board shall consist of a Chairperson and two Members appointed by the Central Government from a panel recommended by the Search-cum-Selection Committee.
The National Sports Board Rules, 2026 and the National Sports Tribunal Rules, 2026 were notified under which law?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — National Sports Governance Act, 2025
Both sets of rules were notified under the provisions of the National Sports Governance Act, 2025.
The PM-AJAY Portal launched in May 2026 enables milestone-linked fund flow for which components of the scheme?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Adarsh Gram, Grant-in-Aid and Hostel
The portal covers the Adarsh Gram, Grant-in-Aid (GIA) and Hostel components under PM-AJAY.
PM-AJAY, for which a portal and mobile app were launched in May 2026, is implemented by which ministry?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment
The PM-AJAY Portal and App were launched by Dr Virendra Kumar, Union Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment; the Department of Social Justice implements PM-AJAY for Scheduled Caste communities.
Which company was approved in May 2026 as the strategic buyer for 100% equity of Indian Medicines Pharmaceutical Corporation Limited (IMPCL)?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Skymap Pharmaceuticals Pvt. Ltd.
The Alternative Mechanism approved the highest bid of about ₹121.01 crore by Skymap Pharmaceuticals Private Limited.
Consider the following statements about IMPCL: 1. It was incorporated in 1978. 2. Its prime objective is manufacturing and supplying standardised Homoeopathic and Siddha medicines. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
IMPCL was incorporated on 12 July 1978 with the prime objective of manufacturing and supplying standardised Ayurvedic and Unani medicines, not Homoeopathic and Siddha.
Under the PM-WANI reforms announced in May 2026, flexible short-duration Wi-Fi plans of which durations have been introduced?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — 15, 30 and 60 minutes
The DoT reforms introduce flexible short-duration plans of 15, 30 and 60 minutes.
Within what period have PM-WANI stakeholders been directed to implement the revised guidelines issued by DoT on 22 May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Eight weeks
Stakeholders must implement the revised guidelines within eight weeks from issuance, making the features operational by July 2026.
As per telecom subscription data for the end of April 2026, India's total telephone subscriber base (wireless plus wireline) was about:
Show answer
Correct answer: B — 1,338 million
Total telephone subscribers were 1,337.54 million; 1,073.44 million is the broadband figure, 1,193.57 million active wireless and 1,288.96 million total wireless.
Consider the following statements based on telecom subscription data for the end of April 2026: 1. Overall tele-density (with M2M connections) was 93.69%. 2. Rural subscribers accounted for more than half of total telephone subscribers. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
Overall tele-density was 93.69%; rural subscribers were 41.45% of the total, so statement 2 is wrong.
As per KVIC's provisional data for 2025-26, sales of Khadi and Village Industries products reached about:
Show answer
Correct answer: C — ₹1.87 lakh crore
Sales reached a record ₹1,87,105 crore; ₹1,25,296 crore is the production figure.
Consider the following statements about KVIC's provisional data for 2025-26: 1. Sales grew by about 501% compared with 2013-14. 2. The value of production in 2025-26 was higher than the value of sales. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
Sales rose 501% over 2013-14 to ₹1,87,105 crore; production was ₹1,25,296 crore, which is lower than sales.
The Ministry of Ayush meeting on WHO-ICHI and National Health Intervention Codes in May 2026 focused on developing standardised intervention codes for which systems of medicine?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Ayurveda, Siddha and Unani
The meeting covered ICHI and NHIC for the Ayurveda, Siddha and Unani (ASU) systems of medicine.
Consider the following statements as per the India Semiconductor Mission (May 2026): 1. 12 Fab/Packaging projects have been approved under the Semicon India Programme so far. 2. 24 semiconductor design projects have been approved so far. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
ISM stated that so far 12 Fab/Packaging projects have been approved along with 24 semiconductor design projects.
What is the name of the online portal launched by the India Semiconductor Mission on 26 May 2026 for investors?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Investors Support
The portal launched on 26.05.2026 is titled 'Investors Support' and is accessible at ism.gov.in/investment.
In May 2026, Union Home Minister Amit Shah e-inaugurated women's barracks at the BSF's Sanchu Post. In which district is this post located?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Bikaner
The women's barracks were e-inaugurated at Sanchu Post in Bikaner, Rajasthan.
As stated by the Home Minister at Sanchu Post in May 2026, the BSF's operational jurisdiction has been expanded:
Show answer
Correct answer: D — From 15 km to 50 km
Amit Shah said the government has expanded the BSF's operational jurisdiction from 15 to 50 kilometres.
Consider the following statements made by the Home Minister at Sanchu Post (May 2026): 1. Piped drinking water is being provided to 180 BSF outposts in Rajasthan. 2. Anti-drone systems will be deployed along the border within the next six months. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
Both were stated: piped drinking water to 180 BSF outposts in Rajasthan, and anti-drone systems along the border within six months.
While reviewing Ebola preparedness in May 2026, the Union Health Minister said India had not reported any case of which Ebola disease?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — Bundibugyo Ebola disease
Nadda stated that India has not reported any case of Bundibugyo Ebola disease till date.
Consider the following statements regarding the 2026 Ebola outbreak in parts of Africa: 1. WHO declared it a Public Health Emergency of International Concern. 2. The Africa CDC declared a Public Health Emergency of Continental Security. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
WHO declared a PHEIC and the Africa CDC declared a Public Health Emergency of Continental Security (PHECS).