SF Prep

HSSC CET Current Affairs Quiz — Last 6 months

Daily news by your exam, state and topic — each with a short summary, key facts and MCQs.

7 days 1 month 3 months 6 months 12 months All
948 news · 2534 MCQs
Score: 0 / 0 attempted · 63 questions
Government says India's refining surplus ensures full petrol and diesel supply; capacity 258.1 MTPA
Q1

According to the Petroleum Ministry (May 2026), what is India's rank among the world's refiners?

Show answer

Correct answer: C — Fourth

India is the world's fourth-largest refiner, with 258.1 MTPA capacity across 22 refineries.

Q2 Advanced

India's installed refining capacity, as stated by the Petroleum Ministry in May 2026, is:

Show answer

Correct answer: B — 258.1 MTPA

Installed capacity is 258.1 million tonnes per annum; 243.2 million tonnes was domestic consumption in FY 2025-26.

INS Sudarshini reaches Antigua after her first trans-Atlantic crossing under Lokayan 26
Q3

INS Sudarshini, which completed her first trans-Atlantic crossing in May 2026, is part of which Indian Navy expedition?

Show answer

Correct answer: B — Lokayan 26

INS Sudarshini's voyage is part of the ongoing Lokayan 26 expedition.

Q4 Advanced

Consider the following statements about INS Sudarshini's voyage (May 2026): 1. The last trans-Atlantic crossing by an Indian Navy sail training ship before this was by INS Tarangini in 2007. 2. The expedition began from Visakhapatnam in January 2026. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

Show answer

Correct answer: A — 1 only

INS Tarangini made the last such crossing in 2007; the expedition departed from Kochi on 20 January 2026, not Visakhapatnam.

Indian Railways approves first indigenous hydrogen train on Jind–Sonipat section
Q5

India's first indigenous hydrogen fuel cell trainset, approved in May 2026, will run on which section?

Show answer

Correct answer: D — Jind–Sonipat

Indian Railways approved the 10-car hydrogen trainset for the dedicated Jind–Sonipat section of Northern Railway in Haryana.

Q6 Advanced

Consider the following statements about India's first hydrogen trainset (May 2026): 1. It will operate at a maximum speed of 75 kmph. 2. It will run on a section of Western Railway. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

Show answer

Correct answer: A — 1 only

The trainset will run at up to 75 kmph on the Jind–Sonipat section of Northern Railway, not Western Railway.

12th round of India–Korea CEPA upgrade negotiations concludes in New Delhi
Q7 Advanced

Where was the 12th round of India–Republic of Korea CEPA upgrade negotiations held in May 2026?

Show answer

Correct answer: D — New Delhi

The 12th round of IK CEPA upgrade negotiations was held in New Delhi from 25–27 May 2026.

Q8 Advanced

At the 12th round of India–Korea CEPA upgrade talks (May 2026), the two sides agreed to form sub-groups on which areas?

Show answer

Correct answer: C — Digital trade, supply chains and strategic industrial cooperation

India and Korea agreed to form sub-groups to expand CEPA talks on digital trade, supply chains and strategic industrial cooperation.

Women make up nearly 41% of the 2024 IAS batch, among the highest ever
Q9

As stated by Dr Jitendra Singh in May 2026, women form nearly what share of the 2024 IAS batch?

Show answer

Correct answer: C — 41%

Women officers make up nearly 41% of the 2024 IAS batch, one of the highest-ever shares.

PM chairs 51st PRAGATI meeting; reviews ₹30,000 crore projects and Ken-Betwa link
Q10 Advanced

Which river-interlinking project did the PM say should serve as a model for resolving inter-State water issues, at the 51st PRAGATI meeting (May 2026)?

Show answer

Correct answer: D — Ken-Betwa Link Project

The PM reviewed the Ken-Betwa Link Project and said it should serve as a model for other States to resolve inter-State water issues amicably.

Q11

In the governance platform PRAGATI, whose 51st meeting was held in May 2026, what does PRAGATI stand for?

Show answer

Correct answer: B — Pro-Active Governance and Timely Implementation

PRAGATI is the ICT-enabled, multi-modal platform for Pro-Active Governance and Timely Implementation.

Centre constitutes High-Level Committee on Demographic Change under Justice Prakash Prabhakar Navlekar
Q12

Who chairs the High-Level Committee on Demographic Change constituted by the Government of India in May 2026?

Show answer

Correct answer: A — Justice Prakash Prabhakar Navlekar (Retd)

The committee is chaired by Justice Prakash Prabhakar Navlekar (Retired); Shamika Ravi, Durga Shankar Mishra and Balaji Srivastava are members along with the Census Commissioner.

Q13 Advanced

Consider the following statements about the High-Level Committee on Demographic Change (May 2026): 1. It has to submit its report within one year. 2. Its tenure may be extended by up to six months if necessary. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

Show answer

Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2

The committee will submit its report within one year, and its tenure may be extended by up to six months if necessary.

Centre notifies National Sports Board and National Sports Tribunal Rules, 2026
Q14 Advanced

As per the National Sports Governance (National Sports Board) Rules, 2026, the National Sports Board shall consist of:

Show answer

Correct answer: B — A Chairperson and two Members

The Board shall consist of a Chairperson and two Members appointed by the Central Government from a panel recommended by the Search-cum-Selection Committee.

Q15

The National Sports Board Rules, 2026 and the National Sports Tribunal Rules, 2026 were notified under which law?

Show answer

Correct answer: D — National Sports Governance Act, 2025

Both sets of rules were notified under the provisions of the National Sports Governance Act, 2025.

PM-AJAY Portal and AJAY Mobile App launched to digitise SC welfare scheme
Q16 Advanced

The PM-AJAY Portal launched in May 2026 enables milestone-linked fund flow for which components of the scheme?

Show answer

Correct answer: A — Adarsh Gram, Grant-in-Aid and Hostel

The portal covers the Adarsh Gram, Grant-in-Aid (GIA) and Hostel components under PM-AJAY.

Q17

PM-AJAY, for which a portal and mobile app were launched in May 2026, is implemented by which ministry?

Show answer

Correct answer: B — Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment

The PM-AJAY Portal and App were launched by Dr Virendra Kumar, Union Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment; the Department of Social Justice implements PM-AJAY for Scheduled Caste communities.

Skymap Pharmaceuticals approved as strategic buyer of IMPCL for ₹121.01 crore
Q18

Which company was approved in May 2026 as the strategic buyer for 100% equity of Indian Medicines Pharmaceutical Corporation Limited (IMPCL)?

Show answer

Correct answer: D — Skymap Pharmaceuticals Pvt. Ltd.

The Alternative Mechanism approved the highest bid of about ₹121.01 crore by Skymap Pharmaceuticals Private Limited.

Q19 Advanced

Consider the following statements about IMPCL: 1. It was incorporated in 1978. 2. Its prime objective is manufacturing and supplying standardised Homoeopathic and Siddha medicines. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

Show answer

Correct answer: A — 1 only

IMPCL was incorporated on 12 July 1978 with the prime objective of manufacturing and supplying standardised Ayurvedic and Unani medicines, not Homoeopathic and Siddha.

PM-WANI upgrade: QR-based laptop login, 15/30/60-minute plans and standard hotspot names
Q20

Under the PM-WANI reforms announced in May 2026, flexible short-duration Wi-Fi plans of which durations have been introduced?

Show answer

Correct answer: D — 15, 30 and 60 minutes

The DoT reforms introduce flexible short-duration plans of 15, 30 and 60 minutes.

Q21 Advanced

Within what period have PM-WANI stakeholders been directed to implement the revised guidelines issued by DoT on 22 May 2026?

Show answer

Correct answer: C — Eight weeks

Stakeholders must implement the revised guidelines within eight weeks from issuance, making the features operational by July 2026.

Telecom data, April 2026: 1,337.54 million subscribers, overall tele-density 93.69%
Q22

As per telecom subscription data for the end of April 2026, India's total telephone subscriber base (wireless plus wireline) was about:

Show answer

Correct answer: B — 1,338 million

Total telephone subscribers were 1,337.54 million; 1,073.44 million is the broadband figure, 1,193.57 million active wireless and 1,288.96 million total wireless.

Q23 Advanced

Consider the following statements based on telecom subscription data for the end of April 2026: 1. Overall tele-density (with M2M connections) was 93.69%. 2. Rural subscribers accounted for more than half of total telephone subscribers. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

Show answer

Correct answer: A — 1 only

Overall tele-density was 93.69%; rural subscribers were 41.45% of the total, so statement 2 is wrong.

KVIC data 2025-26: Khadi and Village Industries sales hit record ₹1.87 lakh crore
Q24

As per KVIC's provisional data for 2025-26, sales of Khadi and Village Industries products reached about:

Show answer

Correct answer: C — ₹1.87 lakh crore

Sales reached a record ₹1,87,105 crore; ₹1,25,296 crore is the production figure.

Q25 Advanced

Consider the following statements about KVIC's provisional data for 2025-26: 1. Sales grew by about 501% compared with 2013-14. 2. The value of production in 2025-26 was higher than the value of sales. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

Show answer

Correct answer: A — 1 only

Sales rose 501% over 2013-14 to ₹1,87,105 crore; production was ₹1,25,296 crore, which is lower than sales.

Ayush reviews WHO-ICHI and National Health Intervention Codes for Ayurveda, Siddha and Unani
Q26 Advanced

The Ministry of Ayush meeting on WHO-ICHI and National Health Intervention Codes in May 2026 focused on developing standardised intervention codes for which systems of medicine?

Show answer

Correct answer: D — Ayurveda, Siddha and Unani

The meeting covered ICHI and NHIC for the Ayurveda, Siddha and Unani (ASU) systems of medicine.

India Semiconductor Mission launches 'Investors Support' portal
Q27 Advanced

Consider the following statements as per the India Semiconductor Mission (May 2026): 1. 12 Fab/Packaging projects have been approved under the Semicon India Programme so far. 2. 24 semiconductor design projects have been approved so far. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

Show answer

Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2

ISM stated that so far 12 Fab/Packaging projects have been approved along with 24 semiconductor design projects.

Q28

What is the name of the online portal launched by the India Semiconductor Mission on 26 May 2026 for investors?

Show answer

Correct answer: D — Investors Support

The portal launched on 26.05.2026 is titled 'Investors Support' and is accessible at ism.gov.in/investment.

Health Minister Nadda reviews Ebola preparedness after WHO declares outbreak a PHEIC
Q29 Advanced

While reviewing Ebola preparedness in May 2026, the Union Health Minister said India had not reported any case of which Ebola disease?

Show answer

Correct answer: B — Bundibugyo Ebola disease

Nadda stated that India has not reported any case of Bundibugyo Ebola disease till date.

Q30 Advanced

Consider the following statements regarding the 2026 Ebola outbreak in parts of Africa: 1. WHO declared it a Public Health Emergency of International Concern. 2. The Africa CDC declared a Public Health Emergency of Continental Security. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

Show answer

Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2

WHO declared a PHEIC and the Africa CDC declared a Public Health Emergency of Continental Security (PHECS).

MoSPI releases TAC report on revising IIP base year to 2022-23; new series from 1 June 2026
Q31

The new series of the All-India Index of Industrial Production (IIP), to be launched on 1 June 2026, will have which base year?

Show answer

Correct answer: C — 2022-23

The TAC-IIP report covers revision of the IIP base year from 2011-12 to 2022-23.

Q32 Advanced

Which method will the new IIP series adopt for linking the 2011-12 series with the 2022-23 series?

Show answer

Correct answer: D — Geometric Mean method

The new series will adopt the Geometric Mean method for linking, with linking factors computed for the General Index and Sectoral Indices.

Q33 Advanced

Consider the following statements about the new IIP series (base 2022-23): 1. Its scope includes Rare Earth Minerals and Water Supply. 2. It is aligned with the National Industrial Classification (NIC-2008). Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

Show answer

Correct answer: A — 1 only

The new series adds Minor Minerals, Rare Earth Minerals, Gas Supply, Water Supply and Sewerage & Waste Management, and is aligned with NIC-2025, not NIC-2008.

India Post revenue rises to ₹15,373 crore in FY 2025-26
Q34

What was India Post's revenue in FY 2025-26, as stated by the MoS for Communications in May 2026?

Show answer

Correct answer: A — ₹15,373 crore

India Post's revenue rose to ₹15,373 crore in 2025-26, a single-year increase of ₹2,100 crore; it was about ₹11,500 crore in 2016.

Q35 Advanced

As per India Post (May 2026), how many girls are enrolled under the Sukanya Samriddhi scheme?

Show answer

Correct answer: C — 3.8 crore

India Post said 3.8 crore girls are enrolled under the Sukanya Samriddhi scheme.

ICMR's 'Medical Innovations Patent Mitra' event transfers 41 public health technologies to industry
Q36

How many public health technologies did ICMR transfer to industry at the 'Medical Innovations Patent Mitra: I2I Connect' event in May 2026?

Show answer

Correct answer: B — 41

ICMR transferred 41 public health technologies to industry at the event.

Q37 Advanced

The May 2026 ICMR event saw India's first-ever transfer to industry of inactivated biomaterials of which two viruses?

Show answer

Correct answer: D — Kyasanur Forest Disease and Chandipura

India witnessed the first-ever transfer of inactivated KFD (Kyasanur Forest Disease) and Chandipura virus biomaterials to industry partners.

ECI and International IDEA hold 5-day workshop on electoral risk management at IIIDEM
Q38 Advanced

The Election Commission of India organised the May 2026 workshop on 'Risk Management and Electoral Resilience' in collaboration with which organisation?

Show answer

Correct answer: D — International IDEA

ECI organised the workshop with International IDEA under India's Chairship Programme 2026.

Q39

How many countries were represented among the 32 participants of the ECI workshop on Risk Management and Electoral Resilience (May 2026)?

Show answer

Correct answer: B — 12

The 32 participants represented Election Management Bodies of 12 countries.

India chairs first BRICS 2026 Tourism Working Group meeting; Jaipur to host ministers in August
Q40 Advanced

What is the overarching theme of India's BRICS 2026 Chairship under which the first Tourism Working Group meeting was held in May 2026?

Show answer

Correct answer: D — Building for Resilience, Innovation, Cooperation and Sustainability

The meeting advanced tourism cooperation under the overarching theme 'Building for Resilience, Innovation, Cooperation and Sustainability'.

Q41

Where will the BRICS Tourism Ministers' Meeting be held in August 2026 under India's chairship?

Show answer

Correct answer: B — Jaipur

The 2nd TWG meeting (19–20 August 2026) and the BRICS Tourism Ministers' Meeting (21–22 August 2026) will both be held in Jaipur, Rajasthan.

MNRE: no blanket extension of ALMM List-II for solar PV cells beyond 1 June 2026
Q42

ALMM List-II, whose 1 June 2026 deadline MNRE decided not to extend across the board, applies to:

Show answer

Correct answer: B — Solar PV cells

The decision concerns ALMM List-II for solar PV cells.

Q43 Advanced

The Department of Expenditure's Office Memorandum of 29.04.2026, considered by MNRE, suggested time extensions of what duration based on specific situations?

Show answer

Correct answer: C — Not less than two months and not more than four months

The OM advised treating the West Asia situation as war and suggested extensions of not less than two months and not more than four months, case by case.

Record 212 mineral blocks auctioned in FY 2025-26, including 22 critical and strategic blocks
Q44

How many mineral blocks were auctioned in FY 2025-26, a record for a single financial year, as per the Ministry of Mines (May 2026)?

Show answer

Correct answer: C — 212

A record 212 mineral blocks were auctioned in FY 2025-26; 108 were auctioned in FY 2015-16 to 2020-21 and 364 in FY 2021-22 to 2024-25.

Q45 Advanced

Of the mineral blocks auctioned in FY 2025-26, how many were critical and strategic mineral blocks?

Show answer

Correct answer: D — 22

The record FY 2025-26 tally includes the auction of 22 critical and strategic mineral blocks.

LPG control order amended: PNG users can surrender LPG within 30 days or take a transfer voucher
Q46

Under the LPG (Regulation of Supply and Distribution) Amendment Order, 2026, a consumer who obtains a PNG connection may apply to terminate the LPG connection within how many days?

Show answer

Correct answer: D — 30 days

Consumers may apply for termination of the LPG connection within 30 days of obtaining a PNG connection.

Q47 Advanced

What is the purpose of the 'transfer voucher' introduced by the LPG control order amendment of May 2026?

Show answer

Correct answer: A — Future restoration of an LPG connection in a non-PNG area

Consumers with PNG connections may obtain a transfer voucher for future restoration of their LPG connection in a non-PNG area.

DARPG launches NeSDA 2025 portal to assess online service delivery
Q48 Advanced

The National e-Governance Service Delivery Assessment (NeSDA), whose 2025 portal was launched in May 2026, is based on which index?

Show answer

Correct answer: B — Online Service Index of the UN e-Government Survey

NeSDA is based on the Online Service Index (OSI) of the UN e-Government Survey, customised for the Indian federal structure.

Q49 Advanced

Consider the following statements about NeSDA: 1. It is a biennial assessment framework. 2. It was developed by the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

Show answer

Correct answer: A — 1 only

NeSDA is a biennial framework developed by the Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances (DARPG), not MeitY.

UPSC holds Civil Services Prelims 2026 at 2,072 venues; real-time face authentication used for the first time
Q50

The UPSC Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination 2026, held on 24 May 2026, was conducted at:

Show answer

Correct answer: A — 2,072 venues in 83 cities

UPSC conducted the examination at 2,072 examination venues in 83 examination centres (cities).

Q51 Advanced

As per UPSC's provisional data, roughly what share of applicants appeared in the Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination 2026?

Show answer

Correct answer: C — About 67%

Nearly 5.49 lakh of 8,19,732 applicants, about 67%, appeared; about 61% had appeared in 2025.

Q52 Advanced

The real-time face authentication system used by UPSC for the first time in the Civil Services Prelims 2026 was developed through:

Show answer

Correct answer: B — National e-Governance Division (NeGD), MeitY

UPSC said the indigenously developed system through NeGD of MeitY worked across all 2,072 venues.

Q53 Advanced

Consider the following statements about the UPSC Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination 2026: 1. The Indian Forest Service (Preliminary) Examination 2026 was held along with it. 2. More candidates applied for it than for the 2025 examination. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

Show answer

Correct answer: A — 1 only

The IFS (Prelims) 2026 was held along with it. 8,19,732 applied in 2026 against nearly 9.5 lakh in 2025, so statement 2 is wrong.

Cyprus parliamentary election: DISY finishes first; far-right ELAM rises to third
Q54

Which party won the most seats in Cyprus's parliamentary election held on 24 May 2026?

Show answer

Correct answer: A — Democratic Rally (DISY)

The centre-right Democratic Rally (DISY) came first with 17 seats, ahead of AKEL.

Q55 Advanced

Consider the following statements about the Cyprus parliamentary election of 24 May 2026: 1. DISY won 17 seats. 2. ELAM won eight seats. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

Show answer

Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2

DISY won 17 seats and the far-right ELAM won eight seats.

Q56 Advanced

Which party moved into third place in the Cyprus parliamentary election of May 2026, described as a far-right party?

Show answer

Correct answer: D — ELAM

The far-right ELAM made gains and became the third-largest party in the legislature.

Education Minister deputes IIT Madras and IIT Kanpur experts to fix CBSE re-evaluation portal glitches
Q57 Advanced

Experts from which two IITs were deputed in May 2026 to help CBSE fix technical glitches in its post-result re-evaluation services portal?

Show answer

Correct answer: C — IIT Madras and IIT Kanpur

Dharmendra Pradhan directed that professors and technical experts from IIT Madras and IIT Kanpur assist CBSE.

GATC Rules amended: test centres can now verify CNG, LNG and hydrogen dispensers
Q58 Advanced

Which of the following is NOT among the five dispensing systems added to the scope of Government Approved Test Centres (GATCs) in May 2026?

Show answer

Correct answer: D — Electric vehicle charging stations

The five added categories are petrol/diesel, CNG, LPG, LNG and hydrogen dispensers; EV charging stations are not among them.

Q59 Advanced

Under the amended GATC Rules (May 2026), what is the verification fee for CNG, LPG, LNG and hydrogen dispensers?

Show answer

Correct answer: C — ₹10,000 per nozzle

The fee is ₹10,000 per nozzle for CNG, LPG, LNG and hydrogen dispensers, and ₹5,000 per nozzle for petrol and diesel dispensers.

Q60 Advanced

Consider the following statements about the amendment to the Legal Metrology (Government Approved Test Centre) Rules, 2013 (May 2026): 1. State Governments are empowered to notify additional categories of weights and measures for verification through GATCs. 2. The verification fee for petrol and diesel dispensers is ₹10,000 per nozzle. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

Show answer

Correct answer: A — 1 only

States can notify additional categories; the fee for petrol and diesel dispensers is ₹5,000 per nozzle, not ₹10,000.

VB–G RAM G Act to commence on 1 July 2026; MGNREGS to continue till then
Q61

From which date will the VB–G RAM G Act, 2025 commence, with MGNREGS continuing until then?

Show answer

Correct answer: B — 1 July 2026

The Ministry said Mahatma Gandhi NREGS will continue till the commencement of the VB–G RAM G Act on 1 July 2026.

Q62 Advanced

What MGNREGS labour budget was approved for June 2026 ahead of the switch to the VB–G RAM G Act?

Show answer

Correct answer: C — Over 45 crore persondays

An adequate labour budget of over 45 crore persondays was approved for June 2026.

Q63 Advanced

Consider the following statements about the preparations for the VB–G RAM G Act, 2025 (May 2026): 1. Mother sanctions of ₹26,971 crore were issued under Mahatma Gandhi NREGS. 2. States were asked to prepare their shelf of works on the e-Gram Swaraj portal. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

Show answer

Correct answer: A — 1 only

₹26,971 crore of mother sanctions were issued. The shelf of works is to be prepared through the Yuktdhara portal, not e-Gram Swaraj, so statement 2 is wrong.