Current Affairs Quiz — May 2026
Daily news by your exam, state and topic — each with a short summary, key facts and MCQs.
Which aircraft does the IAF's Suryakiran Aerobatic Team fly, as stated at its 30th anniversary in May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Hawk Mk-132
The team flies the Hawk Mk-132 aircraft in its red-and-white livery.
The Suryakiran Aerobatic Team, which marked 30 years on 26 May 2026, was formed in which year and at which station?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — 1996, Bidar
The team was formed in 1996 at Bidar, where its 30th anniversary was celebrated at Air Force Station Bidar.
While reviewing Ebola preparedness in May 2026, the Union Health Minister said India had not reported any case of which Ebola disease?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — Bundibugyo Ebola disease
Nadda stated that India has not reported any case of Bundibugyo Ebola disease till date.
Consider the following statements regarding the 2026 Ebola outbreak in parts of Africa: 1. WHO declared it a Public Health Emergency of International Concern. 2. The Africa CDC declared a Public Health Emergency of Continental Security. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
WHO declared a PHEIC and the Africa CDC declared a Public Health Emergency of Continental Security (PHECS).
The new series of the All-India Index of Industrial Production (IIP), to be launched on 1 June 2026, will have which base year?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — 2022-23
The TAC-IIP report covers revision of the IIP base year from 2011-12 to 2022-23.
Which method will the new IIP series adopt for linking the 2011-12 series with the 2022-23 series?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Geometric Mean method
The new series will adopt the Geometric Mean method for linking, with linking factors computed for the General Index and Sectoral Indices.
Consider the following statements about the new IIP series (base 2022-23): 1. Its scope includes Rare Earth Minerals and Water Supply. 2. It is aligned with the National Industrial Classification (NIC-2008). Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
The new series adds Minor Minerals, Rare Earth Minerals, Gas Supply, Water Supply and Sewerage & Waste Management, and is aligned with NIC-2025, not NIC-2008.
What was India Post's revenue in FY 2025-26, as stated by the MoS for Communications in May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — ₹15,373 crore
India Post's revenue rose to ₹15,373 crore in 2025-26, a single-year increase of ₹2,100 crore; it was about ₹11,500 crore in 2016.
As per India Post (May 2026), how many girls are enrolled under the Sukanya Samriddhi scheme?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — 3.8 crore
India Post said 3.8 crore girls are enrolled under the Sukanya Samriddhi scheme.
How many public health technologies did ICMR transfer to industry at the 'Medical Innovations Patent Mitra: I2I Connect' event in May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — 41
ICMR transferred 41 public health technologies to industry at the event.
The May 2026 ICMR event saw India's first-ever transfer to industry of inactivated biomaterials of which two viruses?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Kyasanur Forest Disease and Chandipura
India witnessed the first-ever transfer of inactivated KFD (Kyasanur Forest Disease) and Chandipura virus biomaterials to industry partners.
The Election Commission of India organised the May 2026 workshop on 'Risk Management and Electoral Resilience' in collaboration with which organisation?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — International IDEA
ECI organised the workshop with International IDEA under India's Chairship Programme 2026.
How many countries were represented among the 32 participants of the ECI workshop on Risk Management and Electoral Resilience (May 2026)?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — 12
The 32 participants represented Election Management Bodies of 12 countries.
What is the overarching theme of India's BRICS 2026 Chairship under which the first Tourism Working Group meeting was held in May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Building for Resilience, Innovation, Cooperation and Sustainability
The meeting advanced tourism cooperation under the overarching theme 'Building for Resilience, Innovation, Cooperation and Sustainability'.
Where will the BRICS Tourism Ministers' Meeting be held in August 2026 under India's chairship?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — Jaipur
The 2nd TWG meeting (19–20 August 2026) and the BRICS Tourism Ministers' Meeting (21–22 August 2026) will both be held in Jaipur, Rajasthan.
ALMM List-II, whose 1 June 2026 deadline MNRE decided not to extend across the board, applies to:
Show answer
Correct answer: B — Solar PV cells
The decision concerns ALMM List-II for solar PV cells.
The Department of Expenditure's Office Memorandum of 29.04.2026, considered by MNRE, suggested time extensions of what duration based on specific situations?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Not less than two months and not more than four months
The OM advised treating the West Asia situation as war and suggested extensions of not less than two months and not more than four months, case by case.
How many mineral blocks were auctioned in FY 2025-26, a record for a single financial year, as per the Ministry of Mines (May 2026)?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — 212
A record 212 mineral blocks were auctioned in FY 2025-26; 108 were auctioned in FY 2015-16 to 2020-21 and 364 in FY 2021-22 to 2024-25.
Of the mineral blocks auctioned in FY 2025-26, how many were critical and strategic mineral blocks?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — 22
The record FY 2025-26 tally includes the auction of 22 critical and strategic mineral blocks.
Under the LPG (Regulation of Supply and Distribution) Amendment Order, 2026, a consumer who obtains a PNG connection may apply to terminate the LPG connection within how many days?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — 30 days
Consumers may apply for termination of the LPG connection within 30 days of obtaining a PNG connection.
What is the purpose of the 'transfer voucher' introduced by the LPG control order amendment of May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Future restoration of an LPG connection in a non-PNG area
Consumers with PNG connections may obtain a transfer voucher for future restoration of their LPG connection in a non-PNG area.
The National e-Governance Service Delivery Assessment (NeSDA), whose 2025 portal was launched in May 2026, is based on which index?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — Online Service Index of the UN e-Government Survey
NeSDA is based on the Online Service Index (OSI) of the UN e-Government Survey, customised for the Indian federal structure.
Consider the following statements about NeSDA: 1. It is a biennial assessment framework. 2. It was developed by the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
NeSDA is a biennial framework developed by the Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances (DARPG), not MeitY.
Which institute's researchers found molecular evidence of ancient Gondwana wildfires preserved in coal, as reported in May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Birbal Sahni Institute of Palaeosciences
Researchers from the Birbal Sahni Institute of Palaeosciences (BSIP), an autonomous institute of DST, carried out the study.
Consider the following statements about the BSIP palaeofire study (May 2026): 1. It found evidence of wildfires in Gondwana forests nearly 250 million years ago. 2. It combined palynofacies analysis with Raman and FTIR spectroscopy. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
The study used palynofacies analysis with Raman and FTIR spectroscopy and found evidence of wildfires in Gondwana forests nearly 250 million years ago.
In his May 2026 review of national highway quality and maintenance, Nitin Gadkari assessed National Highways covering 10,064 km in which State?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Rajasthan
Gadkari reviewed National Highways covering 10,064 km in Rajasthan and NH projects covering 1,947 km in Himachal Pradesh.
What equipment was commissioned in the Department of Radiation Oncology at Army Hospital (Research & Referral), Delhi, on 25 May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Ring Gantry-based Linear Accelerator
A Ring Gantry-based Linear Accelerator was commissioned in the presence of Defence Secretary Rajesh Kumar Singh.
The National Sports University, described by PIB as India's first dedicated sports university and reviewed by MoS Raksha Khadse in May 2026, is located in:
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Imphal
Raksha Khadse visited the National Sports University (NSU), Imphal, to review progress of its permanent campus.
The Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) Hubs discussed by Meghalaya minister Alexander Laloo Hek and Dr Jitendra Singh in May 2026 are implemented by which body for Scheduled Tribe communities?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Department of Science & Technology
The STI Hubs are implemented by the Department of Science & Technology for holistic development of Scheduled Tribe communities.
Who won the Falta Assembly constituency in West Bengal after the repoll counted on 24 May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Debangshu Panda
BJP's Debangshu Panda won with 1,49,666 votes, per ECI's result page.
Which party's candidate finished second in the Falta repoll result of May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — CPI(M)
CPI(M)'s Sambhu Nath Kurmi was second with 40,645 votes; Congress was third and the TMC fourth.
Consider the following statements about the Falta (AC 144) result of 24 May 2026: 1. The winning margin was more than one lakh votes. 2. The Trinamool Congress candidate finished third. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
Statement 1 is correct (margin 1,09,021). Statement 2 is wrong: the TMC's Jahangir Khan finished fourth with 7,783 votes, behind Congress.
The UPSC Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination 2026, held on 24 May 2026, was conducted at:
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 2,072 venues in 83 cities
UPSC conducted the examination at 2,072 examination venues in 83 examination centres (cities).
As per UPSC's provisional data, roughly what share of applicants appeared in the Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — About 67%
Nearly 5.49 lakh of 8,19,732 applicants, about 67%, appeared; about 61% had appeared in 2025.
The real-time face authentication system used by UPSC for the first time in the Civil Services Prelims 2026 was developed through:
Show answer
Correct answer: B — National e-Governance Division (NeGD), MeitY
UPSC said the indigenously developed system through NeGD of MeitY worked across all 2,072 venues.
Consider the following statements about the UPSC Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination 2026: 1. The Indian Forest Service (Preliminary) Examination 2026 was held along with it. 2. More candidates applied for it than for the 2025 examination. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
The IFS (Prelims) 2026 was held along with it. 8,19,732 applied in 2026 against nearly 9.5 lakh in 2025, so statement 2 is wrong.
Which party won the most seats in Cyprus's parliamentary election held on 24 May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Democratic Rally (DISY)
The centre-right Democratic Rally (DISY) came first with 17 seats, ahead of AKEL.
Consider the following statements about the Cyprus parliamentary election of 24 May 2026: 1. DISY won 17 seats. 2. ELAM won eight seats. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
DISY won 17 seats and the far-right ELAM won eight seats.
Which party moved into third place in the Cyprus parliamentary election of May 2026, described as a far-right party?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — ELAM
The far-right ELAM made gains and became the third-largest party in the legislature.
Experts from which two IITs were deputed in May 2026 to help CBSE fix technical glitches in its post-result re-evaluation services portal?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — IIT Madras and IIT Kanpur
Dharmendra Pradhan directed that professors and technical experts from IIT Madras and IIT Kanpur assist CBSE.
Which edition of Fit India Sundays on Cycle was held on 24 May 2026 to mark Commonwealth Games Day?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — 75th
The 75th edition of Fit India Sundays on Cycle commemorated Commonwealth Games Day at more than 8,000 locations.
What was the theme of the Ahmedabad edition of Fit India Sundays on Cycle on Commonwealth Games Day 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — A New Icon for a Fitter India – Pedalling to 2030
The Ahmedabad edition was themed 'A New Icon for a Fitter India – Pedalling to 2030'.
The national celebration of Commonwealth Games Day 2026, led by Sports Minister Mansukh Mandaviya, was held at:
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Sabarmati Riverfront, Ahmedabad
Mandaviya led the national celebrations from the Sabarmati Riverfront in Ahmedabad, the host city of the 2030 Commonwealth Games.
Which of the following is NOT among the five dispensing systems added to the scope of Government Approved Test Centres (GATCs) in May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Electric vehicle charging stations
The five added categories are petrol/diesel, CNG, LPG, LNG and hydrogen dispensers; EV charging stations are not among them.
Under the amended GATC Rules (May 2026), what is the verification fee for CNG, LPG, LNG and hydrogen dispensers?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — ₹10,000 per nozzle
The fee is ₹10,000 per nozzle for CNG, LPG, LNG and hydrogen dispensers, and ₹5,000 per nozzle for petrol and diesel dispensers.
Consider the following statements about the amendment to the Legal Metrology (Government Approved Test Centre) Rules, 2013 (May 2026): 1. State Governments are empowered to notify additional categories of weights and measures for verification through GATCs. 2. The verification fee for petrol and diesel dispensers is ₹10,000 per nozzle. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
States can notify additional categories; the fee for petrol and diesel dispensers is ₹5,000 per nozzle, not ₹10,000.
What ex-gratia did the Prime Minister announce from the PMNRF for the next of kin of each person who died in the Karwar district mishap on 24 May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — ₹2 lakh
PM Modi announced ₹2 lakh from the PMNRF for the next of kin of each deceased and ₹50,000 for the injured; the Karnataka CM announced ₹5 lakh separately.
The drowning of shellfish collectors on 24 May 2026 took place near Shirali in which taluk of Uttara Kannada district, Karnataka?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Bhatkal
The incident took place near Shirali in Bhatkal taluk of Uttara Kannada district.
The 'Janjati Sanskritik Samagam' addressed by Amit Shah in New Delhi on 24 May 2026 was organised in the 150th birth anniversary year of:
Show answer
Correct answer: B — Bhagwan Birsa Munda
The Samagam was organised on the occasion of the 150th birth anniversary year of Bhagwan Birsa Munda.
According to Home Minister Amit Shah (May 2026), in which two States has the Uniform Civil Code been implemented with special provisions keeping tribal communities outside its purview?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Gujarat and Uttarakhand
Shah said the UCC has been implemented in Gujarat and Uttarakhand with special provisions keeping all tribal communities outside its purview.
Consider the following statements about Amit Shah's address at the Janjati Sanskritik Samagam (May 2026): 1. He recalled Birsa Munda's Ulgulan movement against British rule. 2. He said UCC provisions would be extended to tribal communities in the coming years. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
He recalled the Ulgulan movement; he said no provision of the UCC would be imposed on tribal communities, so statement 2 is wrong.
NMDC's summer camps for about 1,700 tribal children (20 May – 15 June 2026) are being held in villages of which district?
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Dantewada
NMDC launched the summer camps across 17 villages in Dantewada district of Dakshin Bastar, Chhattisgarh.
NMDC is running its 2026 summer camps for tribal children in Dakshin Bastar in partnership with which organisation?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — WOSCA
The camps are executed in partnership with WOSCA, an organisation working in education and community development.
Which of the following facilities was inaugurated at SAI NCoE Gandhinagar by Sports Minister Mansukh Mandaviya on 24 May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — Para Athlete Hostel
The facilities inaugurated were a Para Athlete Hostel, Centralised Dining Hall, Strength & Conditioning Hall, Multipurpose Training Hall and Meditation Park.
Sports Minister Mansukh Mandaviya described SAI NCoE Gandhinagar in May 2026 as an emerging premier high-performance hub for:
Show answer
Correct answer: D — Para sports
He said SAI NCoE Gandhinagar is emerging as a premier high-performance hub for para sports in India.
Where did MoS Sports Raksha Khadse lead the Commonwealth Games edition of Fit India Sundays on Cycle on 24 May 2026?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — IIT Guwahati
She led the special Commonwealth Games edition at the IIT Guwahati campus, organised by SAI Regional Centre Guwahati with IIT Guwahati.
The Khelo India State Centre of Excellence (KISCE) and High Performance Centre visited by Raksha Khadse on 24 May 2026 belong to which State?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — Assam
She visited the Khelo India State Centre of Excellence (KISCE) Assam and the High Performance Centre in Guwahati.
From which date will the VB–G RAM G Act, 2025 commence, with MGNREGS continuing until then?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — 1 July 2026
The Ministry said Mahatma Gandhi NREGS will continue till the commencement of the VB–G RAM G Act on 1 July 2026.
What MGNREGS labour budget was approved for June 2026 ahead of the switch to the VB–G RAM G Act?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Over 45 crore persondays
An adequate labour budget of over 45 crore persondays was approved for June 2026.
Consider the following statements about the preparations for the VB–G RAM G Act, 2025 (May 2026): 1. Mother sanctions of ₹26,971 crore were issued under Mahatma Gandhi NREGS. 2. States were asked to prepare their shelf of works on the e-Gram Swaraj portal. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
₹26,971 crore of mother sanctions were issued. The shelf of works is to be prepared through the Yuktdhara portal, not e-Gram Swaraj, so statement 2 is wrong.
The BHAVYA Scheme, whose guidelines DPIIT released in May 2026, aims to develop:
Show answer
Correct answer: D — 100 industrial parks with about ₹33,660 crore
The Scheme provides for 100 industrial parks over 2026-27 to 2031-32 with an outlay of about ₹33,660 crore.
Which body has been designated the Project Management Agency for the BHAVYA Scheme?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — National Industrial Corridor Development Corporation (NICDC)
The guidelines designate NICDC as the Project Management Agency for implementation and monitoring.
Over which period will the BHAVYA Scheme be implemented?
Show answer
Correct answer: B — 2026-27 to 2031-32
The 100 parks are to be developed over six years, 2026-27 to 2031-32.
Consider the following statements about the BHAVYA Scheme guidelines: 1. The minimum land requirement for a park is 25 acres in hilly states, north-eastern states, Union Territories and smaller states. 2. Up to 50 industrial parks will be taken up in the first phase through a challenge-based competitive selection. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — Both 1 and 2
Both are correct: 25 acres (100 acres in non-hilly states) is the minimum, and up to 50 parks are taken up first through challenge-based selection.
How many candidates were conferred DNB, DrNB, Diploma and FNB qualifications at the 23rd NBEMS convocation (23 May 2026)?
Show answer
Correct answer: C — 26,396
26,396 candidates were conferred DNB, DrNB, Diploma and FNB qualifications; 137 toppers received gold medals.
Consider the following statements made at the 23rd NBEMS convocation (May 2026): 1. NBEMS launched 11 new academic courses. 2. The number of medical colleges in India has increased from 387 to 718. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
Show answer
Correct answer: A — 1 only
11 new courses were launched. Medical colleges increased from 387 to 818, not 718, so statement 2 is wrong.